Russian Zebra Cake Recipe

I wanted to do something other than a boxed cake for Jolie’s party. My mother-in-law had given me a recipe for “Zebra Cake” that she used to make when my husband was a kid, so I decided to try it a week before the party to see if it would be a good birthday cake. It was so tasty. It called for a glaze but as I was eating it I could tell it would go really well with cream cheese frosting, too.

Zebra Cake

4 eggs

1 1/2 c sugar

1 c kefir (or buttermilk)

2 sticks of butter

1 tsp baking soda

2 c flour

1-2 tbsp cocoa

20131004-232642.jpg

Cream softened butter with sugar. Add eggs, and the rest of the ingredients leaving out cocoa. Pour half of the batter into a separate bowl and add cocoa. (I doubled the recipe for Jolie’s layered birthday cake so I just made two batches- one with cocoa, one without.) Mix in the cocoa until you get the color you want. I decided to have a lighter look, but you could make it deeper and more zebra-like.

Pour into a greased cake pan, alternating white and brown by pouring into the center of the pan.

Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

20131004-232716.jpg

20131004-232727.jpg

We iced it with a simple cream cheese frosting found here.

I just have to tell you, this cake was really good. Many asked what kind of cake it was, and everyone seemed to enjoy it. There were only a few pieces left at the end of the party, which really surprised me, since I made a thousand layers.

I bought a small bag of gum paste and cut out small red and turquoise elephants and pinwheels, and made one big pinwheel as the topper. My husband put them all on the cake and added little polka dots. šŸ˜‰ Artsy husbands are the best.

20131004-232743.jpg

20130925-202141.jpg

signature

One thought on “Russian Zebra Cake Recipe

  1. Pingback: Mini Apple Pies with Coconut Oil Crust | Mama Knows What?

Leave a Reply

