The Countdown Begins…

Exactly one month from today, my little boy will be one! Is this real life?  Where has this year gone? I remember people saying when I was pregnant, “Cherish every moment. It will be over before you know it.” They weren’t kidding. I really feel like we just brought Caleb home from the hospital, and at the same time, I feel like I have known Caleb all my life.

The first few months, I felt like I was half asleep. No matter how prepared I thought I was, there was so much to learn. You can read every book in the world, and trust me I was close, but nothing prepares you for when the baby is finally here.  Sometimes I wish I would have done some things differently; other times I’m proud of myself for making good decisions. Next time, instead of reading what milestone he should be hitting, and what the best thing is to do, I will just enjoy where they are in their life, because each phase changes so quickly. Start the clock – the countdown begins now….

1.The first time we met, was one of the most amazing moments of my life. I really felt like you knew who your mommy and daddy were. You were a lot bigger then. Even the doctors thought you would be. Even in the first few minutes of seeing you, I noticed how curious you were. At first you didn’t cry much; you just wanted to figure everything out.

IMG_2473

2. When we brought you home from the hospital, you decided not to poop for a few days. On the day of our family photos, while daddy was holding you, you decided to break the streak. I was walking behind daddy when I heard you let it rip. Daddy swung around and looked at me while saying, “Oh, he pooped, and your changing it!” We laughed so hard! Daddy made me hold you after that. While holding the Merry Christmas banner, I was trying to hold back a smile, because all I could smell was you…stinky boy.

IMG_8966

3. Oh, how much you hated bath time for months. On Thanksgiving, we gave you a bath and you cried until mommy held your hand and gave you a binky. That was probably one of the few times you wanted a binky. After a while, you started to LOVE bath time. We have a hard time getting you out of the tub now.

IMG_8887

4. I loved putting you in your nightgowns (PJs) and watching you stare at the farm animals in your activity set. You would only lay there for a few minutes, but it was so cute to see how tiny you were.

IMG_8930 IMG_8933 IMG_89345. How adorable you looked in your slings and pouches. It was the best way to keep you happy, especially when I needed both of my hands.

IMG_9430 IMG_9050IMG_0359IMG_0334

6. Breastfeeding was not always easy at first. In fact, I remember crying a lot! However, I’m glad I never gave up. When I first started nursing you with a cover, I think I checked on you every few seconds to make sure you were okay.IMG_9414 IMG_9413

IMG_9104

7. This was the first time you held up your head, and your PawPaw was holding you. You were a little over a month old.IMG_0100IMG_0280 IMG_0095 IMG_00978. This is the day you rolled over – crying and screaming the whole time – but you did it!

IMG_0365

9. Here’s the first time you touched your toes. It was also your first road trip to Nana and PawPaw’s cabin. You were so excited about your new milestone that you kept touching your toes as much as possible.
IMG_0217

10. The way you loved to lay like this on daddy’s lap while he patted you was so funny. There would be a drool puddle on the floor when he was done.
IMG_051011. You enjoy car rides, almost as much as you enjoy “driving” the car.

IMG_0684 IMG_0124 IMG_0364 IMG_028812. Many nights, even mommy and daddy wanted to cry, because we were so tired. We tried to get sleep whenever we could.

IMG_0187 IMG_0123 IMG_9962 IMG_9959 IMG_0285 IMG_0202 IMG_0149 IMG_8984

In one year you have accomplished so much. Caleb, you are a blessing to Mommy and Daddy, and we are so thankful that God trusted us with you. Thank you for loving us through this learning process. We hope that, as parents, we live up to God’s standards, for he has given us this blessing.

Psalm 127:3 “Children are a gift of the Lord, the fruit of the womb is a reward.”

One thought on “The Countdown Begins…

Leave a Reply

