And why I chose Honest.

HONEST6

Amanda shared the other day about her reasons for cloth diapering, specifically with G diapers. Since we love to share about the similarities and differences in our parenting styles, I decided to share about my diaper of choice.

We were given many disposable diapers before Jolie was born, a sweet blessing. I had no desire to cloth diaper, and it didn’t matter that my sister worked at an eco-friendly/organic baby store, she couldn’t convince me to try it. From the beginning, however, we learned that Jolie had sensitive skin, especially in the diaper area. We stopped using wipes for the first month or two, and had to switch diaper brands, hoping to find one that didn’t irritate her. 

When Jolie was about 8 months old I started researching more about cloth diapers, because saving money always sounds good, many of my friends enjoyed it, and my sister had been telling me all about every diaper out there for half a year. Our local baby store, Franklin Goose, offers a cloth diaper trial. I decided to dip my toes in and see what all the excitement was about. I tried 5 different diapers/brands for 1 month. At the end of the month I learned that CDing really wasn’t that disgusting, and I might be able to do it. I bought and was given enough diapers to last two days before washing and continued for two more months. 

HONEST9

It got pretty overwhelming for me, though. I felt like I spent all of my time washing, stuffing, and changing stinky diapers. I actually had a harder time noticing when her diaper was dirty because all of the fluff masked the smell really well. This gave Jolie more diaper rashes and stressed me out. I also had started CDing with an “all or nothing” approach. I did not want to spend money on disposables if I was CDing, but I didn’t want to invest in everything to make night time possible without disposables yet. One night, after an oatmeal bath and painful screams from my little lady (her diapers had soap buildup, i think, even though I tried stripping them twice), we decided to switch back to disposables. 

I know I could have done more research and figured out how to make cloth diapering work, but I decided I wanted to spend my time and energy on my daughter. Cloth diapering did not work for us, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t an excellent choice. If we had started from birth I am sure it would have made a huge difference. And I miss her fluffy butt!

What worked for us?

HONEST4

We began ordering diaper bundles from The Honest Company when Jolie was 2.5 months old, stopped during our adventure into cloth, and started back up in November. Here are a few reasons why we love Honest diapers:

1) These diapers are hypoallergenic.

2) We saw a difference in Jolie’s skin immediately, and the wipes are perfect for every situation.

3) They come to our door when we want them to.

4)Bundles are customizable- We choose 6 out of the many adorable patterns. 

5) They are “honestly free of chlorine processing, latex, lotions, fragrances, common allergens, phthalates, optical brighteners, PVC, heavy metals, organotins (MBT, DBT, TBT) & harsh petrochemical additives.”

HONEST8

HONEST3

We love The Honest Company!

signature

Leave a Reply

