Oh, How He loves…

I originally started writing this months ago, but I felt like it needed to be finished rather than tossed out, so here goes…

IMG_4462

A while back our pastor shared a short, excellent message from Psalm 40

“I called to the Lord, and he heard me. He heard my cries. He lifted me out of the grave. He lifted me from that muddy place. He picked me up, put me on solid ground, and kept my feet from slipping. He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see what he did and worship him. They will put their trust in the Lord.” (Psalms 40:1-3 ERV)

“He heard my cries…” Cries. As he was speaking, everyone could hear Jolie’s cries echoing down the hall from the nursery. I was a little frustrated because we had missed the last few Sundays and I was really looking forward to sitting through a sermon. I looked at Viktor and he had that excited smile on his face. “I’ll go.” It’s like that every Sunday, he never lets me pick her up after the service because he longs to see her reaction when he walks into the room.

“Dada!”

 

The smile, the way she drops what she is doing and runs toward him, the way everything is suddenly not as scary in his arms. He heard her cries.

That’s how God is about each of us. He waits, and sometimes waits and waits, for us to call on Him. To cry out to him. He isn’t too busy for us, but so many times we are too busy for him. He desires relationship with us, he delights in us.

How often do you call out to God?

It doesn’t matter how many times Jolie wakes up during the night, one of us always goes in to comfort her. She calls out to us, she cries for us. Many parents, myself included, would say that we are doing it wrong and she needs to learn how to self-soothe. That’s not what I am talking about right now though. She is so used to being in our presence that it’s the end of the world if she wakes up and we aren’t there. She sleeps better between us, she longs to be with us every second.

IMG_5568She is always watching us, constantly aware that we are with her and always proud to show off a new skill or just to sit on our laps.

Do you realize how much better life would be if we were so used to God’s presence that we couldn’t be without it?

If we called out to God in every situation, not just the struggles?

If we praised him through our ups and downs?

The more we spend our time with God, the more we will crave to fall deeper into love with Him. Sunday mornings at church won’t be enough. Jolie is picking up words and phrases Viktor and I use every day, it’s amazing to be able to communicate with her. We have a special language just for us.

IMG_7427

When we spend time with God, in His word, in prayer and worship, it’s the same way. His thoughts become our thoughts, being aware of His presence becomes natural. We won’t have to spend time getting into that special moment, because we’ve never left it.

I want to get so used to being in His presence that my first thought every morning is His.

signature

One thought on “Oh, How He loves…

Leave a Reply

