Eat-Your-Veggies Soup

design

I love soups, and my all time favorite soup is vegetable. I especially love them on days like today, that are cold and rainy with a sick toddler. I also like to freeze my leftovers. Chopping all the vegetables is time consuming, so to have it already packed away in my freezer is nice on rainy days or sick days, when I don’t want to make a trip to the store.

Enough talking. Let’s get to the good stuff!

What you will need:

A large pot, with lid

Olive oil

1 small onion, chopped

2 cups of baby carrots, chopped into small circles

1 chopped heart of a celery stalk, including the leaves

2 tbsp minced garlic (I like the pre-minced garlic, but if you prefer garlic cloves I think four would do it)

2 low sodium chicken broth, 32 oz. I pour one full box in and then add the second box slowly, so it’s not to watery. This step is really more a preference. I wouldn’t use all of the second box.

2 diced (no salt added) canned tomatoes, 14 oz, un-drained

4 medium diced potatoes

1 can of kidney beans, 14 oz

1  Can of green beans, 14 oz

1  Can of corn, 14 oz

2 bay leaves

1/3 cup parsely fresh is best

1/2 tsp thyme

Salt and pepper to taste


I have found that chopping everything at once saves me steps in the end. Especially if I chop my celery, carrots, onion, and potatoes while Caleb is napping. That’s a major win.

Once you have everything chopped, heat a small amount of olive oil (maybe a tbsp) in a large pot over medium heat. Then add the onion, celery, and carrots to the pot. Cook until the onions are translucent.

Add the garlic and stir for a few seconds. The goal is just to mix the garlic in evenly with the other ingredients.

Add the first box of chicken broth. If you feel like you’ll want to add more, go ahead. You can always add more later, so don’t go overboard. You will get some more liquid from the tomatoes.

Put in the tomatoes, potatoes, kidney beans, bay leaves, parsley, salt, pepper, and thyme. Bring to a boil.

Reduce heat and add green beans and corn. Let simmer for 20-30 minutes with lid on.

Enjoy!

Amanda

Leave a Reply

